Me

!!!!!!

My name is Fay, and I’m from Singapore. I’m a Communications student and I’m currently in my fourth university semester.

I came to Munich with an open heart and mind, not exactly knowing what to expect. My native language is English, and I can barely speak or understand German (Sorry, I really should have learnt it – I regret now).

Life here is slower-paced than it is back home. Where I come from, streets are bustling, houses packed, buildings and people everywhere. More shops are open 24 hours than you think, cafes and hawker centres everywhere, and a huge mall at every Bahn-stop (back home we call it MRT). There is a strong, intense culture, and a familiar one. Sometimes in Munich I forget that shops are closed on Sundays and I am left doing god-knows-what waiting for the day to pass.

I miss exercising regularly – running is so therapeutic for me – sadly there is nowhere here for me to exercise and I have been googling and googling and I still cannot find anywhere to gym cheap. So – I have resorted to running around Englischer Garten which is nice sometimes but I really want to find a gym soon.

I also like drinking but beer is real fattening..so.

Being in Munich has made me realise how important my family and friends back home mean to me. I’m not a family-type-person (always going out, rarely home), but I miss the company of my siblings and the comfort of my parents. I have two younger sisters (they are twins!!) and they’re visiting me in June, and that’s something I’m looking forward to.

I enjoy meeting and talking to people, though I haven’t had many chances to do so yet. I have to really start taking initiative – it’s all a learning experience. I don’t have any expectations of whats to come, who I’m going to meet or where I will be going. But yes, heres to a semester of independence and personal growth, more cooking and cleaning, and immersing myself in this new culture and place I’m in.

ok that’s all from me!